Ole Bull Violin and Inez Bull Piano Scholarships

The Ole Bull Violin and the Inez Bull Piano Scholarships that were established at the Elk County Community Foundation, by the Inez S. Bull Foundation recipients were recently awarded. Board member Deanna Young, (right) met with one recipient, Kaitlyn Hallock (left) to present her award of $2,250. Kaitlyn was the recipient of the Inez Bull Piano Scholarship and Rosemary Wargo was the recipient of the Ole Bull Violin scholarship for the same amount, but was unable to attend the presentation.

To qualify for either one of the above mentioned scholarships, student must have graduated from a high school in Potter, Tioga, Elk, McKean, Cameron or Clinton county and be majoring in music. The scholarship is administered by the Community Foundation who will distribute over $184,000 in 2017. These scholarships recognize high school seniors who have displayed outstanding qualities in academic achievement, leadership, and community service. In addition to this award the Community Foundation is involved with the Partnership for Access to Higher Educations (PATH) and will nominate all students who receive a scholarship from them to the PATH program. This program is administered through PHEAA which provides matching dollars to qualified candidates. Last year the Foundation had over $66,000 matched to 64 students in our area.

The Elk County Community Foundation Board extends their gratitude to The Inez S. Bull Foundation who has seen a need in promoting the performing arts and believes in the youth of today. Anyone interested in establishing a scholarship can contact the Foundation at 814-834-2125