Local students receive Straub Brewery Scholarships

The Elk County Community Foundation (ECCF) recently visited the Straub Brewery Visitor Center to recognize the 2022 scholarship winners from the Straub Brewery Scholarship Fund, held at the Foundation. Straub Brewery has supported local students with this scholarship for seventeen years. These scholarships recognize high school seniors who have displayed outstanding qualities in academic achievement, leadership, and community service.

The Straub crew gathered along with the scholarship recipients for a congratulatory photo. Bill Brock, Straub Brewery President & CEO, in center of photo, congratulated scholarship winners, Jacquelyn Schatz from ECCHS, on his left, and Davan Lion from SMAHS, on his right, on their outstanding accomplishments. Jacquelyn will attend Slippery Rock University for Early Childhood and Special Education. Davan will attend Clarion University for Psychology and Nutrition. Missing from the photo were Holly Anthony from SMAHS, and Alexander Miller from ECCHS. Each were awarded $1,000.

This year over $277,239 will be distributed to deserving students, thanks to the all the donors who have established scholarships funds at ECCF. The Elk County Community Foundation Board extends their gratitude to Straub Brewery for contributing to the future of our community through their educational support. Anyone interested in establishing a scholarship can contact the Foundation at 814-834-2125 or find more information on their website, www.elkcountyfoundation.org.