Foundation Extends Medical and Law Scholarship Deadlines

The Elk County Community Foundation (ECCF) is extending the deadline to April 6th, 2012 for four of their scholarships: The Dr. Sandra Calkins Kowalski Nursing Scholarship, the Michelle A. Campbell Memorial Nursing Scholarship, the Joseph A. Williams Medical Scholarship and the Greiner/Roof Law Scholarship. The ECCF administers a number of scholarship funds but only these four provide support to students you are currently enrolled in a college or university for, Nursing, Medical, or Law School. All of the Foundation’s other scholarships are geared toward graduating High School Seniors.

For this year, the DR. SANDRA CALKINS KOWALSKI NURSING SCHOLARSHIP joins the other post High School awards. Because there was not a Johnsonburg Area High School student pursuing a degree in nursing the scholarship then is opened up to nursing student with a Johnsonburg tie living in Elk County perusing a degree in community nursing. This scholarship was named for a native of Johnsonburg by her husband Stan Kowalski. Dr. Sandra Calkins Kowalski, known as Sandy, graduated at the top of her class from Johnsonburg High School. She began her nursing studies and received her RN in 1960 from the University of Buffalo–affiliated Edward J. Meyer Memorial Hospital School of Nursing. Sandy is a nurse who dedicated her career to community health, considered by many to be critical to the well-being of communities everywhere. Living in Michigan and currently in Indiana, she had served as a Visiting Nurses Association (VNA) advisor for 30 years. She also went on to become a faculty member at Purdue University North Central, and Valparaiso University where she was teaching future nurses and involving students in the community nursing experience. While still in her 50’s, Sandy was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease. Alzheimer’s disease has robbed Sandy Kowalski of much of her life. It has stolen her energetic personality, her determination and her contact with the outside world, but it will never take away her accomplishments in the nursing field.

To qualify for The Michelle A. Campbell Memorial Scholarship, you must be a graduate of St. Marys Area, Elk County Catholic, Johnsonburg Area, or Ridgway Area High Schools and enrolled as a second year student or higher in an accredited nursing program at a post secondary learning institute. A GPA of at least 2.75 is required. The applicant must be in a second year, not entering second year. Any past applicant or recipient is eligible to re-submit an application for consideration for a future scholarship award. THE MICHELLE A. CAMPBELL MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND was created by her parents in memory of her. Michele Campbell was a hard working and dedicated nursing student at the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford. As the number one student in her class, Michele was dedicated to helping others and learning to be the best nurse she could be.

The Joseph A. Williams Scholarship qualifications include graduation from either St. Marys Area or Elk County Catholic, and must be accepted or in attendance at an accredited medical school. A GPA of at least 3.0 is required. THE JOSEPH A. WILLIAMS SCHOLARSHIP was established by Mr. Williams, himself in his Last Will and Testament. Mr. Williams was one of the founders of the Industrial Council of St. Marys and very much interested in civic matters. He also held leadership positions with the American Red Cross; United Fund; Andrew Kaul Memorial Hospital and the Historical Society of St. Marys and Benzinger Township.

Finally, The Greiner/Roof Memorial Law Scholarship will be awarded to an applicant who has been accepted to or is in attendance of an accredited law school. Candidate must maintain their primary residence in Elk or Cameron County or be a graduate of one of the five high schools located in the two counties. A proposed recipient’s academic standing and achievement, participation in extracurricular activities and general life experience will be considered. The Greiner/Roof Memorial Law Scholarship was created in memory of the Honorable Paul B. Greiner and the Honorable Vernon D. Roof, past President Judges of the 59th Judicial District of Pennsylvania. Judge Greiner served as President Judge from 1964 until 1986, after which he served as a senior judge until his death at age 83 in 1999. Judge Roof’s tenure on the bench was much shorter, as he served as President Judge from 1996 until 2002, when he died at age 51. Both Judge Greiner and Judge Roof were respected and renowned as fair and impartial jurists not only in Elk and Cameron Counties, but throughout the Commonwealth.

Applications for scholarships are available by request either by emailing your name and address to or by calling our office at 834-2125.