2011 Scholarship Winners

By Amy Cherry, Daily Press

As part of its ongoing scholarship program, the Elk County Community Foundation (ECCF) awarded a total of 83 scholarships to local students this year totaling $77,225. Of those scholarships, 20 were awarded to seniors from St. Marys Area High School, 19 from Ridgway Area High School, 17 from Elk County Catholic High School, 12 from Johnsonburg Area High School, six from DuBois Area High School, four from Brockway Area High School and two from Kane Area High School. Also awarded were five postgraduate scholarships to students already attending a postsecondary institution. These winners were: Blake Housler, Julia Pfaff, Joseph Sorg and Timothy Vollmer, who were awarded the Joseph A. Williams Memorial Medical Scholarship; and Leah Tamburlin, who won the Michele A. Campbell Memorial Nursing Scholarship.”The dollars given to these students will impact generations to come as these young adults shape our communities. Donors who have established these scholarships are contributing to our future leaders,” said Paula Fritz Eddy, ECCF executive director. “The Elk County Community Foundation Board extends their gratitude to those who have seen the need and believe in the youth of today.” Eddy invited anyone interested in establishing a scholarship to contact the Foundation at 814-834-2125.

In addition to those students receiving postgraduate scholarships, the following students were awarded scholarships through ECCF: